kotmj

Budget tailoring

When I was a student not that many years ago, the prices for the good stuff seemed improbable. Did people really pay RM350 for a tie? RM4K for a suit? It seemed like another world altogether to me.

I felt betrayed when a tailor who earlier had quoted me RM70 for a long sleeve shirt wanted RM10 more because I specified high stitch density, felled seams, and hand tacked buttons. (I hope he has forgiven me.) I spent too much time at places like Kamdar and Nagoya trying too see if there were any overlooked fabrics.

When I first had trousers made, I remember demanding a 10 ringgit discount. The tailor refused, and when I insisted, he said he would if I am willing to have it unlined because the lining costs some money. Because I provided my own cloth, he did not make any money off the cloth markup. On top of that, the price he quoted me was 20% lower than market rate. And I had the petulance to insist on a RM10 discount on top of this. Talk about squeezing till the pips pop out. Fortunately in this case, I am sure he has forgiven me since this tailor went on to become a forum favourite.

This thread is to discuss tailor-made garments done on a budget. I imagine this is where those who are new to tailored clothes would want to post. No questions are too noob in this thread. The cheaper the better, etc.

Don’t worry about being mired at the beginner level. Luxury has a rachet effect – once you have gone one rachet up, it becomes impossible to go one rachet down without feeling a strong erosion in your standard of living. You will gradually, with rising income and connoiseurship, move up the luxury ladder till RM350 for a tie is the norm and you feel lucky your latest suit only costs RM4K.

• Like 1